#51 – Watch the Olympics Live

‘”Inspire a generation” is our motto. Not necessarily “Create a generation” …
which is what they sometimes get up to in the Olympic village’
– Boris Johnson

Although my sport of choice is football, there is something special about the Olympics. I know it, you know it, we all know it. After all, these are athletes at the very peak of their powers, performing in the largest – and one of the oldest – sporting events in the world. Plus the opportunity only comes around once every four years!

Although I know I watched some of the 2004 Athens Olympics, it was the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games that really captured my attention. I was staying with my grandparents for a few weeks that summer and vividly remember waking up at all hours to watch the swimming events due to the Thorpe-Phelps rivalry that had developed in the build-up. However, it was Britain’s very own Rebecca Adlington that truly captured my attention and kick-started my Olympics love affair.

As it happened, the 2012 Olympic Games were due to take place in London and, due to some fantastic luck, not only did my mum manage to get us some tickets, those tickets included going to the Aquatics Centre to watch some of the swimming events!

It was an absolutely wonderful day and, whilst there, I was able to see competitors such as Phelps, Lochte, le Clos, Missy Franklin and Ledecky in action. Most importantly, I was afforded the chance to see Adlington swim live which, after her inspiring performances in 2008, was a dream come true.

 

To see my complete bucket list, click here

Leave a Reply

