#106 – Visit the Leaning Tower of Pisa

‘I’ve been to the Leaning Tower of Pisa. It’s a tower, and it’s leaning.
You look at it, but nothing happens,
so then you look for someplace to get a sandwich’
 – Danny DeVito

Truth be told, Danny DeVito hits the nail on the head with this one. In fact, the accuracy can be acknowledged by the fact that the second time I ended up in Pisa I didn’t even want to bother visiting the tower, however I made my way there with my then-girlfriend so she could experience what all the fuss was about – and I mean “fuss” in the most sarcastic of ways.

Anyway, you’d have to go all the way back to 2010 and a day trip from Florence to Pisa for the first time I visited the Leaning Tower and its Duomo. Apparently either during – or perhaps after – construction, the tower began to sink due to the ground being unable to take the weight, which really emphasises the phrase “weak foundations”. However, it only sank on once side, giving it the iconic lean that so many people flock to see.

Now it is a tourist trap with continuous construction works taking place to ensure that it doesn’t fall over completely. There are lots of street sellers selling, well for lack of a better word, tat (I’ve never known why we use that word, but it’s what I’ve always used).

If anything, the highlight is watching all the tourists attempt to pull off ridiculous poses to get a photo of them holding up or pushing over the tower. Don’t believe me? Take a look through these. People really are willing to try anything to out-do each other and get the perfect photo.

Alternatively, you can just got a normal photo to commemorate visiting one of the most over-hyped “iconic” structures in the world, like my mum and I did. Then again, this sort of image probably wouldn’t do very well on your IG now, would it?

25559_330754273219_565711_n

16yo me, with my mum, in front of The Leaning Tower of Pisa

To see my complete bucket list, click here

One comment

  1. I was just saying to Ed we were underwhelmed by the Leaning Tower of Pisa and I then read your blog!! Lol
    But that was a great holiday xx

Leave a Reply

